Travel Theme: Above

This week’s post takes its inspiration from another blog – Where’s My Backpack? – which has a weekly travel theme. This week the theme is ‘Above’, and I was inspired to take part as, wherever I travel in the world, I always have a desire to see a place from above. The tourism industry is partly responsible for this; most cities have a tall building of some description which tourists are encouraged to visit for a panoramic view of the city, usually at a hefty ticket price. And I am guilty of falling for the hype, although since I visited the Burj Khalifa in Dubai – the world’s tallest building – I have been a little more picky about where I’ll pay to ascend to.

View from the Burj Khalifa
View from the Burj Khalifa

We see the world from above every time we travel by plane, but I’ve seen two of the world’s natural wonders in all their beauty from a small prop plane. Firstly the Grand Canyon:

The Grand Canyon
The Grand Canyon

And secondly the Great Barrier Reef:

The Great Barrier Reef from above
The Great Barrier Reef from above

My other favourite option is the cable car, which again features prominently in many tourist spots! You may be lucky enough to get a beautiful view from the top, as I captured here in Austria:

A view from a mountain top in Austria
A view from a mountain top in Austria

Or you might pick the wrong day to visit, as we did here:

At the top of Penang Hill in the rain

Luckily with this one, the trip up the hill on the railway was worthwhile. Despite a few disappointments, the view from above is always worth the effort I think!

Inspired? Why not post your own favourite view from above?

Leave a Reply

