Blogging DIY

Wordpress

I have just taken part in WordPress’ Blogging 201 and wanted to share what an excellent course it is. I started this blog for a couple of reasons: to discuss my experiences of moving abroad; to help others in a similar situation; to entertain anyone who is interested in hearing about my adventures; and because I love writing. Since my son came along, blogging has become my only writing outlet (until I regain more time to myself) and, as with most things I embark upon, I want to do it properly. So I signed up for Blogging 201.

WordPress offer this course free of charge and it’s available to anyone, regardless of whether or not you blog on WordPress. In hindsight, it was a little too advanced for my blogging requirements (as someone who has only just started out), but it’s ok – Blogging 101 starts tomorrow and I’ve already signed up.

The course is completely flexible – you access it in your own time and can work at your own pace. It put me in contact with other bloggers who were also looking to improve their blogs and attract more readers, as well as giving me a lot more insight into how to create a successful blog and some of the features available beyond the basic posting that I’ve done so far. The best thing is that you can access all of the content after the course has finished, so once my blog is more established I can go back to some of the features which went over my head. No scrap that, the best thing was reading some fantastic blogs from like-minded bloggers and gaining my first comments. I’m looking forward to engaging in the first course and hopefully you’ll see the results as the days go by!

In the meantime, please feel free to comment on what you find here and let me know what you’re blogging about – I’d love to pay you a visit in return! Or maybe we’ll meet on Blogging 101

3 thoughts on “Blogging DIY

Leave a Reply

